Modified on

In 2011, the CCRA initiated a biennial recognition program consisting of three awards to acknowledge and celebrate the contributions of individuals who have had a remarkable impact on cancer research and the cancer research community. In 2017, the CCRA announced a new award recognizing exceptional leadership in patient involvement in cancer research. These awards are presented during the Canadian Cancer Research Conference.

To submit a nomination, please provide the nominee’s name and a brief paragraph detailing the reasons for nomination to Diana Soifer (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) by the end of day on May 15, 2019. Nominations are open to all, including past nominees.

CCRA Award for Exceptional Leadership in Cancer Research

Awarded to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to fostering the development of cancer research in Canada through their leadership in organizations, or development of collaborative research opportunities or initiatives that have had a transformative impact.

Previous recipients:

  • 2017 – Dr. Elizabeth A. Eisenhauer
  • 2015 – Dr. Morag Park
  • 2013 – Dr. Victor Ling
  • 2011 – Dr. Philip E. Branton

CCRA Award for Outstanding Achievements in Cancer Research

Awarded to a Canadian cancer researcher from any research discipline for outstanding lifetime achievements which have had an impact in greatly advancing our understanding of cancer, the treatment of cancer, and/or cancer control.

Previous recipients:

  • 2017 – Dr. John C. Bell
  • 2017 – Dr. Marco A. Marra
  • 2015 – Dr. Joseph L. Pater
  • 2015 – Dr. Nahum Sonenberg
  • 2013 – Dr. John E. Dick
  • 2011 – Dr. Anthony J. Pawson

CCRA Award for Distinguished Service to Cancer Research

Awarded to an individual whose work has had a substantial impact on public education, policy, or discourse on cancer control and particularly cancer research in Canada.

Previous recipients:

  • 2017 – Dr. Eduardo L.F. Franco
  • 2015 – Dr. Michael F. Evans
  • 2013 – Mr. Bob McDonald
  • 2011 – Mr. André Picard

CCRA Award for Exceptional Leadership in Patient Involvement in Cancer Research

Awarded to an individual or organization who has made exceptional contributions to fostering patient involvement in cancer research in Canada. 

Previous recipients:

  • 2017 – Dr. Michael A.S. Jewett
  • 2017 – Ms. Judy Needham

Nominations Review Process

A subcommittee of the 2019 Canadian Cancer Research Conference’s Executive Planning Committee and Canadian Cancer Research Alliance Board will review nominations and recommend the award recipients in each category for approval by the full Executive Planning Committee. Decisions will be made in summer 2019 and the awards will be presented in November at the Canadian Cancer Research Conference.

Should you have any questions or wish to receive further information about the CCRA awards (including the nomination and selection processes), please do not hesitate to contact us.

For information about the 2017 award recipients, click here; 2015 award recipients, click here; 2013 award recipients, click here; 2011 award recipients, click here.